Author Topic: Amazing Race Questions  (Read 426135 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline wcpamotm

  • RFF Not So Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #925 on: October 25, 2013, 10:26:29 AM »
It led to Azaria & Hendekia's elim. if I remember correctly? :torche

Can a team use their EP on any task in the leg?

1. They had to switch to a later flight which had economic seats, putting them in last.
2. I doubt they can use it on a route info.  :funny:

My guess would be that, generally speaking, a team could use the Express Pass to avoid a route info task such as the Ford Challenge.  That said, I could imagine that certain of such tasks could be designated as ineligible within the additional info.  I can agree that the EP couldn't be used if a team simply couldn't puzzle out a destination clue.  (how would that work anyway? Would Phil suddenly appear to hand the team an engraved detailed map to the next destination?   :funny:)
We can put a man on the moon, so why can't we have a Fast Forward in every leg?

Offline wcpamotm

  • RFF Not So Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #926 on: October 25, 2013, 11:01:56 AM »
I suspect Tim and Marie have until the last team checks in on the fifth leg; but that's just a guess on my part.

I think this is a good guess.  Another guess is that Tim and Marie would not be allowed to check in to the pitstop while still in possession of the second EP.  We might actually find out what happens!
We can put a man on the moon, so why can't we have a Fast Forward in every leg?


Offline RachelLeVega

  • RFF TAR Updater
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2549
  • Fearless of ticket agents - too hot to be handled!
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #927 on: October 25, 2013, 05:37:44 PM »
I suspect Tim and Marie have until the last team checks in on the fifth leg; but that's just a guess on my part.

I think this is a good guess.  Another guess is that Tim and Marie would not be allowed to check in to the pitstop while still in possession of the second EP.  We might actually find out what happens!
Yeah, but what can the exes do when arriving on the mat with the two EPs? Wait it out until last place like Zev & Justin? I don't think so. That would be a horrible rule for just a repetitive flank of cardboard even if a team is unbearable, annoying, or mean-spirited.
<3 Family, friends, food, freedom... FULFILLED <3

Offline Rachel Berry

  • RFF Not So Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #928 on: October 25, 2013, 09:47:54 PM »
Do the teams get to keep the papers of the detour, roadblock, route info, etc? Or they have to throw them?
Jason & Amy to win TAR23

Online georgiapeach

  • Amazing Race Moderator
  • RFF Administrator
  • I Live at RFF
  • *****
  • Posts: 47270
  • TAR Detective
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #929 on: October 25, 2013, 10:14:50 PM »
All clues are supposed to be handed in at the mat....
RFF's Golden Rule:
Have RESPECT for each other, regardless of opinion. This of course includes no flaming/insulting other users and/or their posts.


Offline Platrium

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3050
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #930 on: October 26, 2013, 06:23:49 AM »
If a team has 2 EPs, are they allowed to NOT give it away and just let it expire on the 4th/5th leg?

Offline Jobby

  • TAR & RFF Fanatic
  • TAR Detectives
  • I Live at RFF
  • *****
  • Posts: 13784
  • HEHEHEHEHEHE
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #931 on: October 26, 2013, 07:50:47 AM »
No, they have to. They can choose not to use theirs but if they don't give the second one away, I'm sure they can't check-in or receive a penalty, or maybe have to wait by the mat for another team to arrive, hand them the pass, before they can check-in. That will reduce their choice on who gets the Express Pass though, and also, they will be delayed for their Pit-start next next.
"The Amazing Race shows the best and worst out of you. But if only negative things are shown, then it's probably you. - Jobby"

Offline Jobby

  • TAR & RFF Fanatic
  • TAR Detectives
  • I Live at RFF
  • *****
  • Posts: 13784
  • HEHEHEHEHEHE
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #932 on: October 26, 2013, 07:53:05 AM »
What's on my mind is whether or not perhaps, Tim and Marie can stick the Express Pass on perhaps... let's say the U-TURN board and write a note saying that the Express Pass is for a particular team. I know we have seen seasons where a last team had all their money taken away from them on a NEL, and teams on the following leg left money in the cluebox at the start of the next leg of the race. Can't remember which season... is it Season 7 where teams left money for Meredith and Gretchen except for Rob and Amber?
"The Amazing Race shows the best and worst out of you. But if only negative things are shown, then it's probably you. - Jobby"

Offline Platrium

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3050
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #933 on: October 29, 2013, 09:22:43 AM »
What will happen if more than 1 team received a 24-hour penalty? (Almost impossible example: 5 teams have an alliance that they'd all buy 1st class tickets, because the next flight leaves more than 12 hours after the 1st one.)

Offline stekay

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2521
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #934 on: October 29, 2013, 09:23:46 AM »
Last team to check in eliminated and the rest 12 hours behind the other teams? idk :lol:


Offline Platrium

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3050
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #935 on: October 29, 2013, 09:32:24 AM »
I was imagining a daring alliance :lol: , even if it consists of around 2 or 3 people only.

Online georgiapeach

  • Amazing Race Moderator
  • RFF Administrator
  • I Live at RFF
  • *****
  • Posts: 47270
  • TAR Detective
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #936 on: October 29, 2013, 12:44:23 PM »
In the Intro, Phil says you MUST give EP away by the end of the fifth leg...
RFF's Golden Rule:
Have RESPECT for each other, regardless of opinion. This of course includes no flaming/insulting other users and/or their posts.

Offline Jobby

  • TAR & RFF Fanatic
  • TAR Detectives
  • I Live at RFF
  • *****
  • Posts: 13784
  • HEHEHEHEHEHE
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #937 on: October 30, 2013, 01:42:31 AM »
What will happen if more than 1 team received a 24-hour penalty? (Almost impossible example: 5 teams have an alliance that they'd all buy 1st class tickets, because the next flight leaves more than 12 hours after the 1st one.)

Production will stop them at all cost. It must also be in the rules somewhere.
"The Amazing Race shows the best and worst out of you. But if only negative things are shown, then it's probably you. - Jobby"

Offline Platrium

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3050
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #938 on: October 30, 2013, 04:39:53 AM »
What will happen if more than 1 team received a 24-hour penalty? (Almost impossible example: 5 teams have an alliance that they'd all buy 1st class tickets, because the next flight leaves more than 12 hours after the 1st one.)

Production will stop them at all cost. It must also be in the rules somewhere.

Hmmm... cool! :colors

Offline Platrium

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3050
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #939 on: October 30, 2013, 05:05:57 AM »
This has never been encountered by any teams in the US series yet: What's the time penalty (U.S. series) for helping his/her teammate complete a roadblock.


Offline Jobby

  • TAR & RFF Fanatic
  • TAR Detectives
  • I Live at RFF
  • *****
  • Posts: 13784
  • HEHEHEHEHEHE
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #940 on: October 31, 2013, 08:24:53 AM »
You quit and receive a 4 hours penalty.
"The Amazing Race shows the best and worst out of you. But if only negative things are shown, then it's probably you. - Jobby"

Offline Platrium

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3050
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #941 on: November 02, 2013, 06:20:30 AM »
Tim & Marie's relationship, exes, means which one of the following? ???
a.) ex-bf / ex-gf (formerly dating)
b.) ex-fiance / ex-fiancee
c.) ex-husband / ex-wife

Offline RachelLeVega

  • RFF TAR Updater
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2549
  • Fearless of ticket agents - too hot to be handled!
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #942 on: November 02, 2013, 03:28:05 PM »
Tim & Marie's relationship, exes, means which one of the following? ???
a.) ex-bf / ex-gf (formerly dating)
b.) ex-fiance / ex-fiancee
c.) ex-husband / ex-wife
Most likely A) since never have I heard them say married or engaged.
<3 Family, friends, food, freedom... FULFILLED <3

Offline TAR25

  • RFF Not So Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #943 on: November 04, 2013, 08:27:00 PM »
Is it just me or have there been other seasons where it has gone so long without a non-elimination leg?  :gaah:

Offline RachelLeVega

  • RFF TAR Updater
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2549
  • Fearless of ticket agents - too hot to be handled!
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #944 on: November 04, 2013, 09:03:52 PM »
Is it just me or have there been other seasons where it has gone so long without a non-elimination leg?  :gaah:
TAR3 & 4 didn't have a non-elimination Leg until Leg 8.
<3 Family, friends, food, freedom... FULFILLED <3

Offline Air

  • Big Brother Updaters
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2210
  • oh you speak french? oh man that's deep
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #945 on: November 04, 2013, 09:29:13 PM »
Leg 4 was a KOR and a KOR is a NEL.

Offline Jobby

  • TAR & RFF Fanatic
  • TAR Detectives
  • I Live at RFF
  • *****
  • Posts: 13784
  • HEHEHEHEHEHE
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #946 on: November 04, 2013, 10:08:17 PM »
Is it just me or have there been other seasons where it has gone so long without a non-elimination leg?  :gaah:

Technically a TBC doesn't eliminate a team...  :snics:

"The Amazing Race shows the best and worst out of you. But if only negative things are shown, then it's probably you. - Jobby"

Offline SuperTux

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 900
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #947 on: November 04, 2013, 10:26:07 PM »
If both U-turn and FF appear in the same leg, can a U-Turned team tries to finish the FF instead after seeing the picture on the U-Turn board? If they finish the FF does that mean they don't need to complete both detours?
好像用中文做签名档会比较酷。

Offline Lutpay

  • RFF Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
  • #FishbachOuttaWater
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #948 on: November 04, 2013, 11:18:30 PM »
If both U-turn and FF appear in the same leg, can a U-Turned team tries to finish the FF instead after seeing the picture on the U-Turn board? If they finish the FF does that mean they don't need to complete both detours?

Maybe in recent seasons, if you already chose NOT to do the FF, you can't change that decision..

Offline theschnauzers

  • TAR Detectives
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3350
  • An original TARfly
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #949 on: November 04, 2013, 11:22:02 PM »
If a team wins a Fast Forward Pass, they are entitled to bypass all other tasks on the leg, and go directly to the pit stop.
If they have done some tasks, then they can skip all remaining tasks and go directly to the pit stop. (My recollection is that in some of the early seasons, a FF might not be provided at the last stop in country A, but would be included in the clue envelope at the first clue box in country B. So that is where this sentence comes from.)
In the case you ask about, the power of the fast forward overcomes the U-Turn, and the U-Turn would be treated as if the team had already passed that point in the leg when a later team attempts to U-Turn them.) So yes, the team doesn't need to complete any remaining tasks before the pit stop.
The teams keep the FF clue with then through the leg, the team can decide to go for a FF after reaching the detour, and IIRC, this did happen in some of the early seasons.
-- theschnauzers