Author Topic: Amazing Race Questions  (Read 127423 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline theschnauzers

  • TAR Detectives
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2642
  • An original TARfly
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #575 on: August 26, 2012, 01:43:08 PM »
As to the audience aspect; spoilers have been common for American Idol, especially for the song choices for the week's performances by the contestants at the dress rehearsal that takes place a few hours before the live broadcasts.

I haven't heard about the US version of The Voice, but I haven't gone looking for those either. But with the early rounds that are pre-recorded, I wouldn't be surprised if it is happening with those, as well.
-- theschnauzers


Offline Jimmer

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 886
  • Sarah the Cedar Rapids Native <3
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #576 on: August 26, 2012, 04:13:21 PM »
Wow! Really cool supah3ro!!!

Offline redskevin88

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #577 on: September 05, 2012, 06:46:53 AM »
Is this true?

Quote
If a team used the Express Pass to skip a Detour and that team is U-Turned, the U-Turn is void.

Source is Wikipedia.

Offline Best Loser

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #578 on: September 05, 2012, 09:21:04 AM »
Is this true?

Quote
If a team used the Express Pass to skip a Detour and that team is U-Turned, the U-Turn is void.

Source is Wikipedia.
It's never come up in any episode, so unless it has a source I assume it is incorrect, much like the "If a team doesn't use the EP before leg 8 they are required to do the Fast Forward", which was on wikipedia for quite a while before it was removed.



I mean, that doesn't even make sense. Why would skipping one task let you skip a second task also?

Offline Tarfan37

  • RFF Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #579 on: September 05, 2012, 10:08:16 AM »
Is this true?

Quote
If a team used the Express Pass to skip a Detour and that team is U-Turned, the U-Turn is void.

Source is Wikipedia.

i believe what this is trying to say is that if a team is uturned (lets say Ron and Christina) iby kynt and vyxsin.  while ron and chrstina completed spirt world they can use there express pass to those "nullify" that they have to do natural world (i just finished watch TAR unfinished buisness epi 2)


Offline Airlines

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1678
  • Tijana Dapcevic - To The Sky
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #580 on: September 06, 2012, 04:41:49 AM »
I actually understand this. The team used the EP to skip the DETOUR. They then get U-Turned and are forced to go back and do a task that they have already skipped. Therefore, the U-Turn is void. I don't like this, however. And also, if someone gets U-Turned, and they quit the U-Turn Detour, is the penalty the same?
Where do we go now?
To the sky
You and I
Beautiful

Offline Best Loser

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #581 on: September 06, 2012, 08:02:29 AM »
I actually understand this. The team used the EP to skip the DETOUR. They then get U-Turned and are forced to go back and do a task that they have already skipped. Therefore, the U-Turn is void. I don't like this, however. And also, if someone gets U-Turned, and they quit the U-Turn Detour, is the penalty the same?
The EP lets you skip a task. The Detour is two tasks, but you only have to do one of them. Each time a team uses the EP, they always choose who is doing the Roadblock or which Detour task they'd do. Therefore, using the EP on the Detour task and then getting U-turned would make you go back and do the Detour task you hadn't selected. That's why this "rule" doesn't make any sense and more than likely isn't real.





But yes, I presume the penalty for quitting a Detour after being U-turned would be the same as not completing the Detour.

Offline Mug Costanza

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
  • #fearthebeard
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #582 on: September 08, 2012, 12:29:41 AM »
I actually understand this. The team used the EP to skip the DETOUR. They then get U-Turned and are forced to go back and do a task that they have already skipped. Therefore, the U-Turn is void. I don't like this, however. And also, if someone gets U-Turned, and they quit the U-Turn Detour, is the penalty the same?
The EP lets you skip a task. The Detour is two tasks, but you only have to do one of them. Each time a team uses the EP, they always choose who is doing the Roadblock or which Detour task they'd do. Therefore, using the EP on the Detour task and then getting U-turned would make you go back and do the Detour task you hadn't selected. That's why this "rule" doesn't make any sense and more than likely isn't real.

Once you're done with the Detour task, you would go to the U-Turn board and get your next clue. If someone U-Turns you after that, it would be like Laurence & Zac trying to U-Turn Amani & Marcus. The U-Turn would be void because you've already gotten your next clue, not because you used your Express Pass.

Offline SuperTux

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 697
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #583 on: September 11, 2012, 12:59:40 AM »
If the clue requires the team to take a taxi to somewhere but contestants decide to take the subway (or even walk) instead due to shortage of money, will it incur a penalty?
好像用中文做签名档会比较酷。

Offline Dom

  • RFF Timeliner
  • TAR Detectives
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 633
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #584 on: September 11, 2012, 01:30:44 AM »
If the clue requires the team to take a taxi to somewhere but contestants decide to take the subway (or even walk) instead due to shortage of money, will it incur a penalty?

Yes, definitely. I can only remember examples the other way around, but if the clue states that a team MUST do something, they'll be penalised if they don't.


Offline Mug Costanza

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
  • #fearthebeard
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #585 on: September 11, 2012, 02:22:29 AM »
If the clue requires the team to take a taxi to somewhere but contestants decide to take the subway (or even walk) instead due to shortage of money, will it incur a penalty?

During Leg 10 of TAR13, Toni & Dallas took the Moscow subway instead of a taxi to their next clue. Instead of getting a Pit Stop penalty, however, they were immediately told by the woman handing out clues to return to the Roadblock location and take a taxi back to her.

Offline SuperTux

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 697
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #586 on: September 11, 2012, 03:31:01 AM »
Thanks for your replies! :)
好像用中文做签名档会比较酷。

Offline apskip

  • Geographer Extraordinaire
  • TAR Detectives
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6198
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #587 on: September 11, 2012, 03:43:31 PM »
If the clue requires the team to take a taxi to somewhere but contestants decide to take the subway (or even walk) instead due to shortage of money, will it incur a penalty?

During Leg 10 of TAR13, Toni & Dallas took the Moscow subway instead of a taxi to their next clue. Instead of getting a Pit Stop penalty, however, they were immediately told by the woman handing out clues to return to the Roadblock location and take a taxi back to her.

The inherent problem with that enforcement of rules is that Toni and Dallas were using alternate transportation because they had lost all their money when Dallas inadvertently in a taxi did so and they had no money for a taxi. it was hard enough for them to beg money for public transportation.

Offline redskevin88

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #588 on: September 17, 2012, 03:15:13 AM »
If the clue requires the team to take a taxi to somewhere but contestants decide to take the subway (or even walk) instead due to shortage of money, will it incur a penalty?

During Leg 10 of TAR13, Toni & Dallas took the Moscow subway instead of a taxi to their next clue. Instead of getting a Pit Stop penalty, however, they were immediately told by the woman handing out clues to return to the Roadblock location and take a taxi back to her.
The inherent problem with that enforcement of rules is that Toni and Dallas were using alternate transportation because they had lost all their money when Dallas inadvertently in a taxi did so and they had no money for a taxi. it was hard enough for them to beg money for public transportation.

And they had already lost their passports (while I think Dallas lost his or did he lose Toni's as well), and so they were effectively already out of the race.

Offline theschnauzers

  • TAR Detectives
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2642
  • An original TARfly
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #589 on: September 18, 2012, 12:36:51 AM »
The obverse also has happened, and resulted in a penalty of 30 minute plus the time saved in the Lisbon leg of TAR 3; when Heather and Eve received a route marker at the end of a soccer penalty kick roadblock that directed them to the pit stop on foot. They got a cab, and realized, on camera, that the directions told them to go on foot. They arrived first at the mat, and after the last team checked in they were shown on camera with Phil and Phil explained their violation and the definition in the Rule book. Because all of the other teams checked in within a half hour after they had arrived, their check in time was adjusted for the penalty, and they were eliminated.
-- theschnauzers

Offline Best Loser

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #590 on: September 18, 2012, 09:37:55 PM »
Was the penalty for not completing the detour a 12 hour penalty for each side? And is it still that way, just with 3 hours rather than 12?

Offline Tarfan37

  • RFF Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #591 on: September 19, 2012, 12:13:30 AM »
Was the penalty for not completing the detour a 12 hour penalty for each side? And is it still that way, just with 3 hours rather than 12?

wayyy back in s1 if you skipped a detour it was 24 hours ie Nancy and Emily (because u skipped both sides) (it is impossible to not do one but not the other) however it changed in s17 where its 6hrs.. i.e. Nick and Vicki as far as we know thats how it remains

Offline theschnauzers

  • TAR Detectives
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2642
  • An original TARfly
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #592 on: September 19, 2012, 11:48:02 PM »
There's never been a detour penalty "for each side" and I'm not sure how you got that; it was 24 hours in season one, with some references to the same penalty in some subsequent early seasons; and at some point, it was reduced to six hours. (None of this 3 for each side business.)
-- theschnauzers

Offline Tarfan37

  • RFF Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #593 on: September 20, 2012, 10:50:08 AM »
i think this user is trying to ask the penalty for skipping the uturn... would the penalty still be 6hrs since its a detour? (if thats now what he's asking i would like to kno that)

Offline Best Loser

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #594 on: September 20, 2012, 01:18:42 PM »
There's never been a detour penalty "for each side" and I'm not sure how you got that; it was 24 hours in season one, with some references to the same penalty in some subsequent early seasons; and at some point, it was reduced to six hours. (None of this 3 for each side business.)
It was from some interview with Maria & Tiffany. Or maybe it wasn't, I didn't actually check what the link was to. It was just at a non-TAR related forum, and someone posted a video link, and then people started talking about what the girls were saying. It was a really large thread, so I'd rather not take the time to hunt the link down again, so I guess just ignore me.

Offline theamazingracer21

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 778
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #595 on: September 21, 2012, 07:17:02 AM »
I have a queston

How much money does a team win (after taxes and ect)
TAR24 - Dave & Connor, Afganimals
Survivor Cagayan - Tony, Spencer
MKR5 - Greek Twins, Surfer Dads,
BBCan2 - Sabrina, Allison

Offline Best Loser

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #596 on: September 25, 2012, 09:54:53 PM »
I think that might have been answered earlier in the thread, but I'm not sure how many pages back it was.





I recently rewatched Season 3, and at the final Roadblock (animal memory task) each person was given notes. Anyone know what was on that?

Offline theschnauzers

  • TAR Detectives
  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2642
  • An original TARfly
Re: Amazing Race Questions
« Reply #597 on: September 26, 2012, 12:44:55 PM »
The teams are paid pre-tax, they're responsible for paying federak (and state, if any) income taxes themselves.

How much they pay depends on their "marginal" tax rate and what the tax rates are in their state of residence. That varies from state to state, and some states don't assess personal income taxes. The effective federal rate depends on the individual's other income and deductions, and that makes it difficult to give a precise answer.
-- theschnauzers

Offline gigglypiggies

  • RFF Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
How many more years do you predict this show has in it?
« Reply #598 on: October 03, 2012, 08:40:52 PM »
I hope...well...forever, but really, how many years do you think this will keep on keeping on?

Offline ianthebalance

  • RFF Frantic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 514
Re: How many more years do you predict this show has in it?
« Reply #599 on: October 03, 2012, 08:47:42 PM »
It will never end, because eventually its a race around the universe (sadly, people would complain about how the race ALWAYS visits Mars :lol:).


 

Custom Search